Veronica’s Baby (P1) – Intertwined Lives

“This’ll change things a bit, someone’s tapping my belly, and I’m not ready yet.”

What would you do?

There are approximately 6 million pregnancies every year in the United States: 4 million live births; 2 million pregnancy losses. Mine has been the joy of holding a few of these beautiful births in my cushioning arms. Mine has been the pain, as well, of hugging the mothers and fathers of some of the most tummy-churning baby stories. I’ve heard the experts, as well. I am not one.

Parenting is an awesome responsibility.

Veronica is pregnant. Her boyfriend -the father – thinks she is lying. She doesn’t love him. Veronica is 21. She has recently stepped out on her own and now the bills are piling up. She cannot afford to be pregnant, she is sure, and she cannot afford a baby.

“I feel like God was like, you know, you got to do this. You can’t really hold on to something you don’t want,” she says. I listen.

What would you do?

“You  want a loving relationship for a baby,” she tells me, “because that’s all you want your baby to be surrounded by – is love.”

What would you do?

I think it was his voice that got me. I had never heard anyone with such a voice, and as a boy hiding in the grasses of South America, I used to imagine what he looked like. As it would turn out my imagination was way off, but imagining him was enough to get me hooked on his song: It’s A Wonderful World.

I, too, dreamed of a wonderful world. Dreaming filled me with hope.

His name is Louis Armstrong. The words that got me hooked, oh, and still keep me hooked are these. ” I see trees of green, red roses too. I see them bloom for me and you, and I think to myself: what a wonderful world! I see skies of blue, clouds of white, bright blessed days, dark sacred nights, and I think to myself: what a wonderful world! The colors of the rainbow, so pretty in the sky, are also on the faces of people going by. I see friends shaking hands, saying how do you do. They’re merely saying, I love you. I hear babies crying. I watch them grow. They’ll learn much more than I’ll ever know and I think to myself what a wonderful world. Yes, I think to myselfL what a wonderful world.”

I just don’t know why this still gives me goosebumps, but it does. It’s a wonderful world, isn’t it?


Bowfoot Peter : Sticks And Stones by Neville DeAngelou

The Rat And The Alley Cat by Neville DeAngelou
How To Get What You Want While You Are Busy Changing The World
See you along The Journey.
Neville
Leave a Reply

