Growing Into Fatherhood

God does something crazy by allowing forty weeks to prepare for a child.

Guitar in hand, just back from LA, and very much in love, Josh Hendrick – lead singer/songwriter of Dallas The Band – stopped by to sing and talk about his new gig: fatherhood. (Click here to listen to Josh Hendrick)

My Daddy Sings! Josh Hendrick on The Journey

Listen to internet radio with The Journey on Blog Talk Radio

“Day 1,” he said, “when you find out you’re going to have a kid there are so many questions that all of a sudden become relevant and God gives you forty weeks to get all of that straightened out. You may get one or two answers within that time.”

“We thought it was going to be text book, but something else happens: labor starts early – it did for me anyway. And I grew an enormous respect for my wife. I love my wife. I didn’t imagine I could love her anymore than I did. I grew an enormous respect for her.

Josh & Jen

“The moment my daughter was born, it was a complete split second falling love with someone you hadn’t met before. I spent hours just staring at her.”

Joah and Anelie


“Just like when I met Jen, I had an explosion of inspiration.”

BUT NOT WHEN YOU HAVE A CHILD

Dreaming

“I don’t remember what it is like to sleep through the night.”

The phone rang. Our session was over. No sooner than he left. Aunt Lucy stopped by on her way home from her medical check up. She previewed my chat with Josh. She handed me her Doctor’s business card and said, “Give this to his wife. She’ll need it in a while.”

“A father has to be a provider, a teacher, a role model, but most importantly, a distant authority figure who can never be pleased. Otherwise, how will children ever understand the concept of God?”
― Stephen Colbert

Josh Hendrick selects three of his musical legends to help him play the game, HOW I GOT OVER. Click here to enjoy the game. Josh and / or his baby girl must cross a deadly swamp to get his newborn over to his wife. He needs help to do so. But can any of his legends help his baby across? Can you get over?

Website of Dallas – The Band: http://dallastheband.bandcamp.com/

Leave a Reply

